What We Do

 Guy Bradley Award Request for Nominations


Nomination Due Date:  January 31, 2013



The Guy Bradley Award was established in 1988 to recognize individuals for achievements in wildlife law enforcement, focusing especially on those activities which directly aid or advance the law enforcement goals and mission of state and federal fish and wildlife agencies. This award is given in the spirit of Guy Bradley, the first wildlife law enforcement agent killed (1905) while performing his duties to protect the nation's wildlife. Wildlife officers, spread thinly over the entire United States, enforce the wildlife laws of this country in all weather conditions and are often alone, understaffed, and overworked. This is an opportunity to recognize those officers who put their life on the line for wildlife during their careers. 


The Guy Bradley Award will be presented to one state and one federal agency wildlife enforcement officer whose dedication and public service demonstrate outstanding leadership, excellence in implementation, knowledge, and a lifetime commitment to the field of wildlife law enforcement, and whose actions have advanced the cause of wildlife conservation. The award seeks to recognize extraordinary individuals who have made a significant contribution to wildlife law enforcement, wildlife forensics, or investigative techniques that warrant national recognition. 


One state and one federal recipient will receive $1,000 and a commemorative plaque recognizing their efforts at a national fish and wildlife conference. In the event that a recipient cannot accept a cash award, as is the case for federal employees, a donation of $1,000 will be made in the recipient's name to the wildlife organization of his or her choice. 


Please submit all nominations on agency letterhead. In submitting the nomination, please:

  • Provide all the information necessary to contact the sponsoring agency submitting the nomination and the candidate nominated (including telephone numbers, address, and email)
  • Clearly list the candidate's accomplishments in wildlife enforcement which merit consideration for this award
  • Submit any additional documentation you think would strengthen the nomination letter in support of the candidate 

Please send one hard copy of your nomination to:

Krystyna Wolniakowski, Director Western Partnership Office
National Fish and Wildlife Foundation
C/O Guy Bradley Award
421 SW 6th Avenue, Suite 950
Portland, OR 97204
Fax: 503-417-8787

Award Notification: Recipients will be notified by the end of February 2013.

Presentation of Award: March 2013

For more information: Please contact Krystyna Wolniakowski by email at wolniakowski@nfwf.org.